Officers and Committee Members

To contact an officer or committee by email, click on the name of the office or committee (blue links).


Rev. Derek van Gulden

Kevin Love

Bruce Coates

Treasurer of Mission Funds:
Jay Reed

Geof Lyon

Liz Rice-Smith

Assistant Treasurer:
Fred Witte


The Cabinet is the coordinating and policy-making body of the church. Its members are the Officers and a representative from each board and committee. It is chaired by the moderator.

Nominating Committee
The Nominating Committee seeks candidates for the offices, boards, and committees of the church. Its members are representatives from the boards and committees.

The Diaconate works with the pastor in ministering to the spiritual needs of the church and the community.

Camilla Ayers (co-chair)
Laurie McKenna (co-chair)
Andrena Huntsman
David Emerson
Elizabeth Rice-Smith
Jill Carter
Kate Desmond

Board of Trustees
The Trustees are responsible for the church’s financial affairs and its property.

Walter Vining
Kevin Love
Chip Kistner
Rick Kasten
Bill Elwell
Geof Lyon

Outreach Committee
The Outreach Committee studies social problems in the light of the Christian faith and disburses mission funds accordingly.

Jay Reed (ex-officio)
Bill Davis
John Cooney
Marge Schell
Anne Kistner
Charlie Brackett
Darlene Spittle
Wendy Woodbury
Jessica Hunt

Christian Education Committee
The Christian Education Committee works with the Christian Education/Faith Formation Director to lead education programs and activities for children and adults.

Kylah Brackett (chair)
Laurie McKenna
Beverly Bernhard
Karen Hurst
Susan Himml

Stewardship Committee
The Stewardship Committee oversees fundraising for the church’s operations and missions.

Dan Bing
Barbara Sachs
Jim Schell
Jack Reed

Music Committee
The Music Committee works with the music director to oversee the church’s music programs.

Bob Cannon
Rhiannon Hurst
Susan Bowers
Hope Norton
Evelyn Reed

Membership Committee
The Membership Committee seeks to attract new people to the church to deepen and maintain the involvement of the members of the congregation.

Susan Lillis
Louisa Casadei-Johnson
Geof Lyon
Rick Kasten
Dan Bing
Barbara Sachs

Personnel Committee
The Personnel Committee supports and advises staff members and mediates conflict between staff, committees, and members of the congregation.

Joe Chambers
Jessica Hunt
Jack Reed

Pastor-Parish Relations Committee
The Pastor-Parish Relations Committee supports the relationship between the minister and members of the congregation.

Kate Desmond
Jim Schell
Debbie Welch
Janice Ramsden

Thriving Congregations Committee
Debbie Welch (chair)
Katie Welch
Andrena Huntsman
Kate Desmond
Liz-Rice Smith
Leap Kasten

Board of Ushers
The Board of Ushers provides ushers for all services at the church.

Joe and Karen Chambers (February)
Jeff Taylor (March)
Barbara Reed (April)
Jack and Evelyn Reed (May)
Celene Lyon (June)
Rick Kasten (July)
Louisa Casadei-Johnson (August)
Linda and Steve Rowell (September)
Chip Kistner (October)
Kathie McCarthy (November)
Liz Rice-Smith (December)
Susan Lillis (January)

Flower Committee
The Flower Committee ensures that flowers are provided and arranged for services.

Lee Wagner (February)
Ann Kistner (March)
Ruth Janet Taylor (April)
Evelyn Reed (May)
Barbara Tenggren (June)
Marcia Meyers (July)
Lisa Vining (August)
Debbie Welch (September)
Pam Beck (October)
Susan Herron (November)
Celene Lyon (December)
Liz Rice-Smith (January)